Tags

, , , ,

Our Lady of La Salette

Last night, I had a lengthy conversation with a good friend. At one point, she asked me what the earthquake in Haiti meant and whether the whole 2012 thing was for real. I told her that I did not believe that 2012 would be the end of the world. It would be superstitious for me to believe such a thing.

As for the earthquake, I told her about something Our Lady of La Salette had told the children in 1848. For those of you that are not familiar with this particular apparition, Our Lady appeared once to two shepherd children named Melanie and Maximin. She came to ask the children for amendment of life and added this stern warning:

“If my people will not obey, I shall be compelled to loose my Son’s arm. It is so heavy, so pressing that I can no longer restrain it. How long have I suffered for you! If my Son is not cast you off, I am obliged to entreat Him without ceasing.  But you take no notice of that. No matter how well you pray in the future, no matter how well you act, you will never be able to make up to me what I have endured for you sake.”

The words of Our Lady of La Salette still ring in our ears today. Our Blessed Mother came with tears and entreated that people amend their lives for the better. All of those years since 1848, things have not improved. Rather, we have grown colder in the faith. New scandals, new sins, new wars have come over the earth. Back then, it was still possible to lead a Catholic life. Sometimes, one wonders whether it is possible to do the same today.

Our Lady of Fatima warned the three children that there would be great chastisements visited on the world if people did not amend their lives. While some may think that I am being cruel or sadistic for saying this, the earthquake in Haiti is a chastisement from Heaven. It is a warning to us that we cannot possibly continue going the direction that we’re going. We must change our lives and our ways of thinking before it is too late. If not, then Our Blessed Mother will let Our Lord’s hand fall on the earth.

Yet we must also know that God allows suffering because He is just. God is very forbearing and He can deal with all kinds of things that we throw at Him. But He also knows that there are times when it is much more prudent to punish a child rather than let him or her get away with bloody murder. It happens all of the time.

In the Bible, God sent the prophets to warn the Israelites of the coming chastisement and what did they do?  They continued doing what they had always done. When the Babylonians came, it was too late to save Jerusalem and the Temple. The deeds had already been done and God’s anger was upon His people.

Lest we anger God, we must begin to amend our lives today. We must beg His forgiveness for our sins and realize that nothing in this world is senseless or without cause. If we change our own lives, then we will change the world. If God so wills, our coming chastisements will be shortened and we will not live to see them.

Our Lady of La Salette, pray for us!

