Tags

Fr.  Z. recently had his readers contribute a list of essential books that everyone should read. I’ve decided to make my own list of books that every Catholic should read.

The Church’s Year of Grace by Dr. Pius Parsch. One of my all-time favorite books on the liturgical year. It has affected my life profoundly by allowing me to live the Mass every single day and to thoroughly appreciate my Catholic faith by providing insights into almost every single single aspect under the sun.

My Life with the Saints by Fr. James Martin. Fr. Martin has a unique way of making the saints accessible to us. Rather than write a book about their lives, he examines their lives in the context of his own life. He shows us how the saints impact us every single day. It was this book that got me seriously thinking about the Communion of Saints.

The Story of a Family by Fr. Piat, OFM. On all sides, the family is currently being attacked by the devil and the world. In these days, one of the best examples that Catholic families can have is that of the Little Flower. This book contains the biographies of her saintly parents as well as those of St. Therese’s childhood and adolescence. Saints are not formed by accident. Read this book and understand the role religion plays in family life.

The Dialogue by St. Catherine of Siena. This book of mystical literature taught me the meaning of God’s mercy and how often we spurn it by our ungratefulness. It shows us how mercy and charity intertwined and the real costs of our sins. One of those books that you either run to or run from.

The Mind Ascent to God by St. Robert Bellarmine. This is one of the most profound book that I have ever read. Bellarmine takes the world of nature and shows us how everything in it can bring us to God. From the rays of the sun to the angels themselves, Bellarmine allows us to ascend with Him into the Divine Essence. Essential reading for meditation.

I will post more books in the coming weeks.

Our Lady of the Angels, pray for us!

St. Jerome, pray for us!

