Tags

,

Since I started this blog in June,  I have often had the opportunity to interact with my readers. In general, most of my interactions have been excellent. However, I have received my fair share of spam comments and hate mail.  The “hate mail” that I’m talking about here consists of comments that do not conform to “The Rules” on this blog. For example, I have received many uncharitable comments over the last few months from all kinds of people including fundamentalists Christians. If I recall correctly, there was even one commentator who sent me his testimony of conversion from Catholicism to Evangelical Christianity.

This morning, I received another piece of hate mail. While I deleted it immediately upon receipt, I do feel that it is important for me to discuss one of the allegations that the commentator made. Namely that I am posing as a pious Catholic.

First of all, I do not pose when I write on this blog. As I am a forthright and blunt person,  I am perfectly honest with my readers. As regular readers will know, I do have strong opinions about certain things that occur within the Catholic Church and outside it. I have expressed these opinions in more than 300 articles that have posted on this site. Anybody that doubts my sincerity and love for the Church can go to the very beginning of this blog and read my conversion story.

While I am being honest here, I do try and maintain a life of piety that is in conformity with God’s will. I attend Mass regularly on Sundays and pray the Divine Office every single day. I make an Act of Contrition every morning and every evening to beg God’s forgiveness for my sins.  I do spiritual reading and I meditate every morning.

I would like to note here that I am not a saint. In fact, I have endured great trials and tribulations ever since I was received into Holy Mother Church. I deal with sins of the flesh and the mind every single day. I struggle against temptation with all my mind. I am trying to curb my short temper and my willfulness. Although I fall down many times during the day, I always strive to get up and continue down the road. I have also learned that one hour of pleasure is not worth an eternity spent in hell.

For the most part, I have not written much about spiritual struggles on this site because I believe in a thing called humility. I do not believe in calling attention to myself or to my spiritual experiences. I made a decision when I started this blog that I would only share those experiences and thoughts that I think are worthy of mention. This also goes for news that I read about on the internet and other Catholic sites. 

I also believe that a blogger has a right to his own anonymity. I know of many people who have thrown away the mask and have written under their own real names. Unfortunately, I am not in a position to tell you my name. If my readers need general information about my life and opinions, you can find it on the About page of this site.

“Lord, forgives us our trespasses as we forgive those who have trespassed against us… Amen.”

Our Lady of the Angels, pray for us!

