Tags

,

As I was re-writing my About section earlier today, I started to ask myself about this blog, how it has come to be, and why.

For the most part, I created this blog to be a chronicle of my discernment process. I have realized, however, that discernment is only half the answer. It is a major part of my motivation to continue writing here day after day with a few interruptions in between. But it seems to me that an equally important motivation is the urge to share what I have learned about the Catholic faith with others around the world. Indeed, being Catholic is about sharing what you have learned with others and by doing that we are sharing the faith with one another.

To me, this idea of sharing was one of the main motivations behind this blog. For a long time, I had been a member of an online community in which members shared their experiences about life at one particular sedevacantist parish. It is an excellent outlet for me to talk about my experiences, but I also learned that I needed to share my experiences on a forum that was much larger than what I had at my disposal. I also felt that my comments would be of great help to those that were encountering the Roman Catholic Church and the Vatican, but didn’t know how to approach it for whatever reason. A final reason, and this one came about by complete accident, was providing a place where traditional Catholic ideas about the Vatican and the Papacy could be discussed in the light of my own experiences.

These goals are ever before me as I write here and I feel that there are people out there who read this blog. I check my stats ticker every once in a while and I do find that people stop by to read from all over the world. I know, however, that my website did not grow because of the writings that I have put there. It grew because it was God’s will that my writings be disseminated throughout the internet for those who are willing to read them no matter where they live in the world.

Of course, I know that there are many skeptical readers out there and I believe they are as welcome here as anybody else. Unlike other bloggers who do not tolerate the peanut gallery, I do believe that constructive debate is a good thing. Many great minds were formed that way and I encourage it on these forums. Also, do not be afraid to voice your opinions of what you read. I feel that people do not comment sometimes because they are afraid that their comments will be deleted. I assure you that I don’t delete comments here. I only delete those that I deem are rude or scandalous.

It is my hope that this blog will continue to enlighten you and to help you to understand your Catholic faith better. Of course, there will be many things here that you may not understand or that I may not understand. Know that the door is always open for you to comment and ask questions. As a teacher, I know that I learn much more from my students and fellow colleagues than I do from a book or the internet.

May God bless you and keep you always,

Brother Juniper

