Tags

, ,

 

Every few weeks, I tend to check my dwindling resources in my bank account. It urges me to go and find a job, but I keep hoping foolishly that the money will fall out of the sky. Recently, some money has indeed fallen from the sky, but I know that I cannot live on that for the rest of my life. I will have to undertake some sort of toil in order to support myself until I am able to begin my novitiate and other studies. In addition, I need to start getting cracking on my thesis because it won’t finish itself by the deadline.

Yet I am sorely,  sorely tempted to buy a cycle of Shostakovich symphonies or Haydn piano sonatas to fill some substantial gaps in my collection. This year, I seem to have been collecting lots of complete works. Yet collecting complete works is an odd thing because you get good pieces and a lot of hum-dingers. In the case of some composers, more hum-dingers than true masterpieces.

Still, it’s something worth thinking about and praying over.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about Mother Teresa recently. I honestly could not tell you why I am so interested in her. When I was younger, I discounted her as a celebrity and as a goodwill ambassador for the Catholic Church. Like the people that I refuted yesterday, I believed that she courted publicity. But I have come to think otherwise as my post from yesterday will make abundantly clear.

I suppose my interest in Mother Teresa stems from a friend of mine that has been discerning a vocation to the Lay Missionaries of Charity. I have also met the MCs in our diocese and have found them to be nothing, but charitable. Indeed, it fills me with great embarrassment to think that many people would discount their work for souls and numerous others that need them.

Something else that I have been thinking about is an incident that took place earlier this week. I have been taking a summer class that involves teaching a group of high school students. Let me tell you, I am not a fan of teenagers.

On some level, I can understand that they are in the process of maturing and that they do have to make a ton of mistakes, but what I can’t stand about them is their attitude. It’s that attitude that makes them think that they know more and know more things better than their teachers and parents. I suppose it is because they are almost adults and they would like to be treated like adults. Yet how am I supposed to treat like adults people that act like two year olds and smack each other upside the head? It gets old fast.

Hence, I lost my temper a couple of days. I am good about controlling my anger, but I had to put those kids in their places. If I didn’t, then they would wreak havoc on the classroom. I know that as much as I would like to imitate Don Bosco and St. John Baptist de La Salle as a teacher, I know that I am very far from the ideal indeed. The only thing that I can do is to continue to make changes and adjustments to my own attitude. Hopefully, I will gain something via the experience.

Our Lady of Consolation, pray for us!

St. Francis of Assisi, pray for us!

St. John Baptist de La Salle, pray for us!

St. John Bosco, pray for us!

Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta, pray for us!

