Scourging at the Pillar

“This is the chalice, the new and eternal testament in My Blood, which shall be shed for you” (Luke 22:20). These words, spoken by Jesus at the Last Supper, out of hte fullness of His loving Heart, reveal to us the great treasure that He has left us as His dying bequest. To the end of time, His Precious Blood will flow upon our altars, to purify sinners, to strengthen the just, and to be for all the ransom to reopen heaven. Here the martyrs nurtured their heroism, the virgins their purity, the saints their self-immolation. By the Blood of Christ, conveyed to us through the Sacraments, we enter into union with God and participation in His divine life. The life of grace was given to us in Baptism. By the Sacrament of Confirmation, it was strengthened, in the Blessed Eucharist it is rejuvenated and consummated; in the Sacrament of Penance we are cleansed from sin, and the words of the prophet are fulfilled: “In that day there shall be a fountain open to the house of David, and to the inhabitants of Jerusalem for the washing of the sinner and unclean” (Zachariah 13:1).

O Precious Fountain, which the angels surround in deepest adoration, Thou hast, also purified me and made me fit to lead a supernatural life; I may daily draw from Thee to quench the thirst of my soul; but despite the fact that Jesus has again and again poured out upon me the treasures of His love, I am so poor in virtue, so far from perfection. I constantly partook of the Sacrifical Blood, offered me by Thy love, but I failed to make the sacrifices whereby I should render Thy grace effective. O Lord, infuse into my heart a generous, courageous love that I may requite love for love.

From Jesus: The Model of Religious (Meditations for every day of the year) by A Religious Sister of the Congregation of St. Charles Borromeo; translated by a Sister of Notre Dame (Cleveland, OH). Published by Frederick Pustet Co, 1925.

