Tags

, , ,

Today, I visited a local Catholic bookstore in town. I suppose you could say that I am something of a regular. I used to go there every week to see what kinds of books they have except today was different.

While looking at the books, I had a sudden realization. I realized that I could live without buying books and CDs as well as numerous other things. Its not just about saving money. It’s also about poverty. Christ didn’t have any luxuries at all when He lived on this earth. He was truly poor. The same thing goes for St. Francis. Neither of them owned anything and yet I have over 1,000 books sitting in my collection at home with stuff being piled on every week.

I think it’s time to put a stop to the madness of consumerism that has taken over my life. Of course, I will continue to read and review good books that I’ve looked through, but I don’t think that I will buy anything anymore because we are so tied down to the “stuff” that we do have. It ties us down and then we can’t really get rid of it no matter what we do.

Perhaps, it is time for me to start living in a true spirit of Franciscan poverty. Any of you want to join me? 😉

